I want to ask you for some ideas for motors which would allow me to build differential drive robot.

MARI MA

Reaction score
I am going to be making a differential drive robot with dimensions approximately 50cm x 60cm. The design is primarily based on two central motors and the tilted caster wheels at the front and back. The height of the robot is about 1. 5 m tall, the passenger cabin of this one is capable of holding a massive load of 100kg.

Encoders will be necessary for motors to be capable whether built-in or external.

The robot will work inside a warehouse building; the exact location is a matter of yet to be resolved. In this regard, may you also tell me what kind of tires (excluding omni wheels for engineering reasons) might be appropriate for my design?

Raspberry Pi 5 is the PLC that I have used in my experiment. If I’ve fallen short, I apologize, it's because I'm new to these activities.

Designing a differential drive robot having dimensions of your own and with its payload capacity is, in reality, a really good project! Here are some suggestions for motors and tires, as well as additional considerations for your design:Here are some suggestions for motors and tires, as well as additional considerations for your design:

Motor Selection

Motor Type:

Brushless DC Motors (BLDC): These are the best, have high initial output against their weight and are capable of lifting heavy payloads.

Geared DC Motors: Solve the problem of high torque requirement by developing technology that will be used for carrying a 100kg load.

Specifications:

Torque: Ensuring the motor has enough torque level. A 0.1 tonne weight demands motors with a torque of no less than 10 Nm each. The torque value depends on the gear ratio.

Speed: Choose coupled motors with wide speed range suitable for both each car design and driving control. The usable RPM range should be set at about 100-200 for a warehouse application.

Encoders: