Hardware Options for Locating and Monitoring a Quadruped.

lukass

Reaction score
I am developing an all-round quadruped robot that will be able to support the advancement of this research work through its hardware features which we intend to equip it with. Here’s a list of the hardware I plan to integrate:Here’s a list of the hardware I plan to integrate:

LiDARS using SLAM (Simultaneous Localization and Mapping)

To create the smart footwear with responsive control, force sensors will be implanted in the soles of the shoes.

Radio for Networking or exchanging control.

Camera for Vision Systems

While LiDAR and SLAM will be used for the localization, the thing that’s appealing me most is doing Kalman filtering and state estimation because I have no experience with them. I’m likely to test the performance of a SLAM with that of Kalman filtering, state estimation, or other related to this sphere.

Questions:

Is the Affordability and Precision Offered by Kalman Filtering and State Estimation as Good as a Commercial-Off-the-Shelf (COTS) IMU?

However, I am aware of the fact that upward pitch and downward pitch generally make use of gyroscope compensation. Despite the fact that a ten axis sensor (gyro, barometer, and magnetometer) with sensor fusion which is common in drones would potentially allow for better performance, what would be the solution cost and the power consumption?

Speaking of implementing the GPS and TOF (Time-of-Flight) capabilities can increase the localization precision?

Additional Sensor Recommendations:

I would also like to know, what other sensors or technologies might You suggest, they would help my project.

Thank you!

Cost efficiency and accurateness of Kalman filtering compared to COTS IMU: